The New Ugly http://podcast.songlander.com/ Ben and Mike review the Nur Ein song contest. Podcast Generator 2.6 - http://podcastgen.sourceforge.net Sun, 16 Feb 2020 23:11:08 -0800 en Your copyright notice http://podcast.songlander.com/images/itunes_image.png The New Ugly http://podcast.songlander.com/ Ben and Mike review the Nur Ein song contest. We SongLove you long time! Mike & Ben Mike & Ben newuglypodcast@gmail.com yes Nur Ein XIV Round 7 We almost didn't survive. Title: Survival

Challenge: Bring your A-Game

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 7 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

Two Jerks One Vote

]]>
We almost didn't survive. http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-06-30_nur_ein_14_round_7_podcast.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-06-30_nur_ein_14_round_7_podcast.mp3 59:56 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben no Sun, 30 Jun 2019 19:09:39 -0700
Nur Ein XIV Round 6 You, too, should make a shadow entry!  

Title: You Too

Challenge: Contrafact

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 6 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

Two Jerks One Vote

]]>
You, too, should make a shadow entry! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-06-13_ne14r06.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-06-13_ne14r06.mp3 1:07:24 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben no Thu, 13 Jun 2019 10:58:00 -0700
Nur Ein XIV Round 5 Where the songs have too many words! Scott substituting for Ben this episode!

Title: Where The Streets Have No Name

Challenge: Tell a story from the end to the beginning

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 5 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

Two Jerks One Vote

]]>
Where the songs have too many words! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-06-04_ne14r5.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-06-04_ne14r5.mp3 56:51 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben no Tue, 04 Jun 2019 21:43:28 -0700
Nur Ein XIV Round 4 Nur Ein XIV Round 4 is here, and we ran out of memory, so I don't know what goes here Title: No Memory

Challenge: Elements of chiptune / computer sounds

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 4 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

Two Jerks One Vote

]]>
Nur Ein XIV Round 4 is here, and we ran out of memory, so I don't know what goes here http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-31_newuglynurein14-4.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-31_newuglynurein14-4.mp3 1:15:17 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben nur,ein,nurein,song,fight,songfight yes Fri, 31 May 2019 14:19:06 -0700
Nur Ein XIV Round 3 Nur Ein XIV Round 3 is a feast of samples to sample! Title: Color Me

Challenge: Sampled vocal hook

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 3 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

Two Jerks One Vote

]]>
Nur Ein XIV Round 3 is a feast of samples to sample! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-22_newuglynurein14-3.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-22_newuglynurein14-3.mp3 1:25:43 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Wed, 22 May 2019 17:46:58 -0700
Nur Ein XIV Round 2 Nur Ein XIV Round 2 is here, and we cut our own brake lines! Title: Pump the Brakes

Challenge: Diss Track

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 2 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

Two Jerks One Vote

]]>
Nur Ein XIV Round 2 is here, and we cut our own brake lines! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-18_newuglynurein14-2fixed.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-18_newuglynurein14-2fixed.mp3 1:51:57 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben nur,ein,nurein,song,fight,songfight yes Sat, 18 May 2019 20:47:00 -0700
Nur Ein XIV Round 1 Nur Ein XIV Round 1 is here! Hear our review of each song, and listen to all of the songs at https://nurein.songlander.com There's a small update to clean up a couple instances where we used the wrong pronouns for a contestant.

 

Title: Shock Value

Challenge: Dynamics

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 7 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

Two Jerks One Vote

]]>
Nur Ein XIV Round 1 is here! Hear our review of each song, and listen to all of the songs at https://nurein.songlander.com http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-11_newuglynurein14-1.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-11_newuglynurein14-1.mp3 1:48:18 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben nur,ein,nurein,song,fight,songfight yes Sat, 11 May 2019 11:03:35 -0700
Nur Ein XIV Round 0 Nur Ein XIV has officially started! Hear our review of each song, and listen to all of the songs at https://nurein.songlander.com Title: Message Received

Challenge: Use of spelling in a song

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 0 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
Nur Ein XIV has officially started! Hear our review of each song, and listen to all of the songs at https://nurein.songlander.com http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-02_newuglynurein14-0.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-05-02_newuglynurein14-0.mp3 1:33:19 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben nur,ein,nurein,song,fight,songfight yes Thu, 02 May 2019 17:22:32 -0700
Nur Ein XIV Intro Nur Ein is back, and so is the New Ugly to cover it! Welcome back to the New Ugly, here for Nur Ein XIV (14)! We'll be doing song reviews once more for the competition. Find useful links in the description below!

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Announcement

Round 0 Topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
Nur Ein is back, and so is the New Ugly to cover it! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-04-24_newuglynurein14-intro.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2019-04-24_newuglynurein14-intro.mp3 14:41 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben nur,ein,nurein,song,fight,songfight yes Wed, 24 Apr 2019 18:45:56 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Coverage Finale We play our favorite songs from each contestant and announce the winner of Nur Ein XIII! Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Forum

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
We play our favorite songs from each contestant and announce the winner of Nur Ein XIII! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-07-05_ne13_finale.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-07-05_ne13_finale.mp3 1:34:59 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben no Thu, 05 Jul 2018 22:11:51 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Round 7 Nur Ein XIII Round 7 - 2 (+3) songwriters Title: The End

Challenge: Bring Your A Game

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 7 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
Nur Ein XIII Round 7 - 2 (+3) songwriters http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-06-26_ne13_7_podcasta.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-06-26_ne13_7_podcasta.mp3 54:21 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben no Tue, 26 Jun 2018 05:28:33 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Round 6 Nur Ein XIII Round 6 - 5 (+3) songwriters Title: Fan Theory

Challenge: Assonance

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 6 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
Nur Ein XIII Round 6 - 5 (+3) songwriters http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-06-21_ne13r6podcast1.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-06-21_ne13r6podcast1.mp3 1:04:03 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben no Thu, 21 Jun 2018 01:09:46 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Round 5 Nur Ein XIII Round 5 - 8 (+2) songwriters Title: Hazardous Waste

Challenge: Beatbox

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 5 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
Nur Ein XIII Round 5 - 8 (+2) songwriters http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-06-16_newuglynurein13-5.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-06-16_newuglynurein13-5.mp3 1:24:05 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben nur ein, songfight, new ugly, music yes Sat, 16 Jun 2018 06:45:44 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Round 4 Nur Ein XIII Round 4 - 10 (+1) songwriters Title: Never Knew the Guy

Challenge: A biography

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 4 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
Nur Ein XIII Round 4 - 10 (+1) songwriters http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-06-07_newuglynurein13-4.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-06-07_newuglynurein13-4.mp3 1:10:43 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben nur ein, songfight, new ugly, music yes Thu, 07 Jun 2018 16:38:22 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Round 3 Nur Ein XIII Round 2 - 14 songwriters Title: We Should

Challenge: Have a guest play a household item

Full songs

Livestream video

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 3 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
Nur Ein XIII Round 2 - 14 songwriters http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-05-28_newuglynurein13-3.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-05-28_newuglynurein13-3.mp3 1:13:39 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben nur ein, songfight, new ugly, music yes Mon, 28 May 2018 17:55:00 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Round 2 Nur Ein XIII Round 2 - 18 (+1) songwriters Title: 3:20

Challenge: Ambience

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 2 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

BoffoYuxDudes Channel for Listening Party

]]>
Nur Ein XIII Round 2 - 18 (+1) songwriters http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-05-23_newuglynurein13-2.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-05-23_newuglynurein13-2.mp3 1:35:33 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Wed, 23 May 2018 16:30:00 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Round 1 Nur Ein XIII Round 1 - 23 songwriters Below is the description I was going to use

Title: Internet Sensation

Challenge: Sell an imaginary product

Full songs

Song Fight! Nur Ein Round 1 topic

New Ugly home

New Ugly Twitter

New Ugly email

New Ugly voicemail: 608-571-4940

]]>
Nur Ein XIII Round 1 - 23 songwriters http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-05-15_newuglynurein13-1.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-05-15_newuglynurein13-1.mp3 1:19:33 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Tue, 15 May 2018 20:29:00 -0700
Nur Ein XIII Round 0 Nur Ein XIII Round 0 - 25 songwriters All songs

Nur Ein forum

]]>
Nur Ein XIII Round 0 - 25 songwriters http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-05-09_newuglynurein13-0.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2018-05-09_newuglynurein13-0.mp3 1:06:56 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Wed, 09 May 2018 21:00:00 -0700
Nur Ein XII Round 7 FINAL ROUND This is the final round of Nur Ein XII!  Which contestants made it to the final round?  Who will win the ultimate prize?

]]>
FINAL ROUND http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-06-21_episode8.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-06-21_episode8.mp3 56:39 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Wed, 21 Jun 2017 00:13:00 -0700
Nur Ein XII Round 6 FAST FIVE Excuse MeChallenge: Lyrics Must Not Contain "A"http://nurein.songlander.com/titles/F3A6F0F8666C9338C3BF4391A6DD4C68

Please fill out our survey here to determine the future of the podcast! https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Q5JJ2ZN

You can now reach us at @NewUgly and newuglypodcast@gmail.com

This week, Mike and Ben review:73 Keep It BeautifulGlenn CaseMerisanSkubStrangelove

Berkeley Social SceneInflatable Vegetables

Mike shows off his remix of Inflatable Veggies, which you can find here: https://soundcloud.com/new-ugly-podcast/veggies

Here's also his dumb cover of Skub: https://www.surveymonkey.com/collect/?sm=fHSaE01_2FuknY_2FoAEGfdA9YruWSzVx7xCqk_2Bhixa5rKpuMSwPg8u96mstOFDn9zWN

]]>
FAST FIVE http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-06-06_episode7.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-06-06_episode7.mp3 1:42:53 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Tue, 06 Jun 2017 09:36:00 -0700
Nur Ein XII Round 5 8 contestants left! 3 will be cut! We're getting close! Ben and Mike listen to the following songs from round 5 of Nur Ein XII. There's a half-time moment for Chris Cornell.

73 Keep It BeautifulBalance LostBerkeley Social SceneGlenn CaseMerisanMicah SommersmithSkubStrangeloveInflatable Vegetables (previously eliminated)

Grab the songs from here: http://nurein.songlander.com/titles/FBC224ED6AE9EBEDA0CBAFFAF3D20518

This is Ben reacting to Skub's song: https://twitter.com/NewUgly/status/867927347013570561

And here's Mike's ad-hoc reinterpretation of Skub's song: https://twitter.com/NewUgly/status/868727920302448640

]]>
8 contestants left! 3 will be cut! We're getting close! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-05-28_episode6.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-05-28_episode6.mp3 1:39:07 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Sun, 28 May 2017 00:36:00 -0700
Nur Ein XII Round 4 Only 10 entries, and less sanity than usual! Ben and Mike listen to the following songs from round 4 of Nur Ein XII.

73 Keep It BeautifulBalance LostBerkeley Social SceneCavedwellersGlenn CaseMerisanMicah SommersmithNick SomaSkubStrangeloveInflatable Vegetables (previously eliminated)Wendy Wiseman Fisher (previously eliminated)

There's a large awkward tangent after Strangelove that you may want to skip.

]]>
Only 10 entries, and less sanity than usual! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-05-24_episode5.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-05-24_episode5.mp3 2:05:32 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Wed, 24 May 2017 20:41:00 -0700
Nur Ein XII Round 3 11 entries! What happened?? Mike and Ben listen to the round 3 song entries of Nur Ein XII and give their honest feedback.

Title: "Regime Change"Challenge: "Two guest vocalists in separate sections"

]]>
11 entries! What happened?? http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-05-16_episode4.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-05-16_episode4.mp3 1:36:49 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Tue, 16 May 2017 00:28:00 -0700
Nur Ein XII Round 2 17 entries, too many margaritas! Mike and Ben listen to the round 2 entries of Nur Ein XII and give honest feedback. They talk a lot about talking. Lots was said. Lots was edited out. Very good songs. Many accusations. Something about chickens. I highly advise you do not listen to this.

Title: "Tired of talking"Challenge: "One sentence"

 

]]>
17 entries, too many margaritas! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-05-07_episode3.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-05-07_episode3.mp3 1:20:36 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Sun, 07 May 2017 23:51:00 -0700
Nur Ein XII Round 1 20 entries, 3 artists will go! In this episode, Mike and Ben listen to the round 1 entries of Nur Ein XII. Our hosts are much more serious, as this round we will lose 3 contestants! We learn what ROTR stands for, Ben likes hamburgers, and Mike is a robot!

]]>
20 entries, 3 artists will go! http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-04-27_2017-04-26-the_new_ugly.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-04-27_2017-04-26-the_new_ugly.mp3 1:15:12 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Thu, 27 Apr 2017 13:39:00 -0700
Nur Ein XII Round Zero Round zero for our podcast... Mike and Ben take a listen to the 20 contestants' entries for Nur Ein XII, the biggest best song engineering contest on the planet.

]]>
Round zero for our podcast... http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-04-24_2017-04-21-the_new_uglypodcast1.mp3 http://podcast.songlander.com/?name=2017-04-24_2017-04-21-the_new_uglypodcast1.mp3 1:39:18 newuglypodcast@gmail.com (Mike & Ben) Mike & Ben yes Mon, 24 Apr 2017 02:01:00 -0700